Akaka Zipline vs Kohala Zipline on the Big Island: Which Course Fits Your Trip?
We earn a commission when you book through our links on Viator, at no extra cost to you. This is how we keep the site free. Learn more →
Quick Verdict
The ʻAkaka Falls listing suits zipline beginners and families who want lines that build gradually. The Kohala Zip and Dip listing suits travellers sleeping in Kona who want a full day with lunch and a swim.
- I would pick the Big Island Zipline Tour Near Akaka Falls for first-time zipliners and families whose children fit the tandem terms the listing asks you to confirm.
- I would pick the Big Island Kohala Zip and Dip Tour from Kona for active travellers based in Kona who want a zipline, a picnic lunch and a private waterfall swim in one booking.
- I would pick the Big Island: 9-Line Waterfall Zipline Experience for friends and couples who want dual lines, after they confirm where it runs, because the listing does not state its location.
I steer anyone with only a spare morning away from the Kohala day, because the listing describes a full day built around an early-morning pickup in Kona.
Course Region, Swim Stop and Pickup Compared
The three listings split by region and by what fills the rest of the day. Only the Kohala listing mentions a swim or a meal, so the extras decide this as much as the lines do.
| Factor | Big Island Zipline Tour Near Akaka Falls (250-ft Waterfall!) | Big Island: 9-Line Waterfall Zipline Experience | Big Island Kohala Zip and Dip Tour from Kona |
|---|---|---|---|
| Course region | Near ʻAkaka Falls, per the listing | The listing does not state its location; check the listing | North Kohala, per the listing |
| Pickup | The listing does not mention pickup; check the listing | The listing asks you to confirm whether transport is offered | Early-morning pickup from Kona |
| Swim stop | The listing does not mention a swim | The listing does not mention a swim | Private waterfall swim |
| Meal | The listing does not mention a meal | The listing does not mention a meal | Picnic lunch with coast views |
| Course style | Lines that build gradually, finishing above a private waterfall | Guided lines over rainforest, waterfalls and a river, with dual lines for racing | A North Kohala zipline within a full day |
| Entrance fees and gear | Check the listing | Entrance fees and equipment included | Check the listing |
| Children and weight terms | Children in a stated weight range ride tandem with a guide; confirm weights | Confirm weight and age limits | Confirm zipline weight limits |
| Length of outing | Check the listing | Check the listing | A full day |
| Footwear and check-in | Enclosed shoes and early check-in required | Check the listing | Check the listing |
I would pick the ʻAkaka Falls listing for a family that wants clear terms and a gentle build, and I steer travellers who want a swim toward the Kohala listing, since neither of the other two cards mentions one.
Big Island Zipline Tour Near Akaka Falls (250-ft Waterfall!): What the Listing Books
The listing says this course runs near Akaka Falls and finishes above a private waterfall, with lines that build gradually. It also says younger children within a stated weight range ride tandem with a guide, and it asks riders to confirm weights, wear enclosed shoes and arrive early for check-in.
According to the Hāmākua Coast entry on Wikipedia, ʻAkaka Falls is a 442-foot (135 m) waterfall viewed from a loop trail in ʻAkaka Falls State Park, which also overlooks the 300-foot Kahūnā Falls.
In October 2013 I made the drive up to the falls. Driving north along the Hāmākua Coast, I crossed bridge after bridge over gulches full of tree ferns and roaring water. Warm, wet air fogged the windows. At ʻAkaka Falls the spray reached me on the path, cool on my face, and the roar drowned out every bird. What I took from that: wear shoes with good grip on the falls path, and give yourself time to pull over at the lookouts along the coast road.
Skip this listing if anyone in your group cannot wear enclosed shoes, or falls outside the weight terms the listing asks you to confirm.
Big Island Kohala Zip and Dip Tour from Kona: The Close Contender
The Kohala Zip and Dip listing describes a full day from Kona: an early-morning pickup, a North Kohala zipline, a picnic lunch with coast views and a private waterfall swim.
According to the Pololū Valley entry on Wikipedia, Kohala is the oldest of the five volcanoes that make up Hawaiʻi Island; Pololū Valley at its northern end is reached by a short graded trail to the valley floor.
Skip this listing if you want a short activity that leaves your afternoon free.
Big Island: 9-Line Waterfall Zipline Experience: What the Listing Books
The listing describes a guided course over rainforest, waterfalls and a river, with entrance fees and equipment included and dual lines so two riders can race side by side. Its card does not state where the course is, and it asks you to confirm the location, the weight and age limits, and whether transport is offered.
I would pick it for couples and friends who care more about racing a partner than about a swim or lunch. Skip this listing if you have not confirmed where it runs and how you will get there.
Deciding by Base Town and Day Length
If you are sleeping in Kona and want a whole day planned for you, the Kohala listing covers pickup, lunch and a swim. If you are staying on the Hilo side or want a shorter outing, the ʻAkaka Falls listing is the closer fit by its stated location near the falls.
According to the Hāmākua Coast entry on Wikipedia, the Hāmākua Coast runs about 50 miles north of Hilo and ends at Waipiʻo Valley.
According to the Hilo, Hawaii entry on Wikipedia, Hilo sits on the windward coast and averaged about 126.72 inches (3,220 mm) of rain a year at Hilo International Airport between 1981 and 2010, with rain on 272 days of the year.
I steer families with small children toward the ʻAkaka Falls listing, because it is the only card here that describes tandem riding with a guide; my Big Island with kids guide covers how to fit a day like that around younger travellers. For a wider look at every course, my zipline tours page lists the options side by side.
What to Check Before Booking
Before paying for any of these three, confirm four things in writing: where the course is, what is included, the weight and age terms, and the cancellation terms.
- The 9-Line card says entrance fees and equipment are included; the ʻAkaka Falls and Kohala cards do not mention entrance fees, so ask those operators directly.
- My advice: do not assume two listings that both mention waterfalls run at the same site or leave from the same town.
- Compare the listings directly, since prices change and I do not quote them here.
- My advice: for safety rules, health limits and weather calls, rely on the operator's listing and official advisories, and ask the operator anything the card leaves open.
Kīlauea's eruption is episodic, so if a volcano day is on your list, check the Hawaiʻi Volcanoes National Park updates and the USGS Hawaiian Volcano Observatory before you plan it, separately from your zipline.
For waterfall outings without a zipline, see my waterfall tours guide.
The Three Zipline Listings to Compare
These cards show each listing's current details as the operator states them.

Big Island Zipline Tour Near Akaka Falls (250-ft Waterfall!)
From $246 · Price checked: Oct 2026
Best for: Zipline beginners and families with children over 40lbs wanting seven lines that build gradually, ending above a waterfall.
Not for: Anyone outside the 40 to 260lb weight range, as no refunds are given if limits are not met at check-in.
A 150-minute course of seven ziplines near Akaka Falls, finishing above a 250ft private waterfall, with children of 40 to 69lbs riding tandem with a guide. Confirm weights beforehand, enclosed shoes and the 30-minute early check-in.
Check availabilityExternal booking on Viator · pricing and cancellations handled by Viator

Big Island Kohala Zip and Dip Tour from Kona
From $308.90 · Price checked: Oct 2026
Best for: Active travellers based in Kona wanting a full day combining a zipline, picnic lunch and private waterfall swim in North Kohala.
Not for: Anyone wanting a late start or short outing, as this is a nine-hour day with early-morning pickup.
A nine-hour day from Kona with early-morning pickup, a North Kohala zipline, picnic lunch with coast views and a private waterfall swim. Confirm pickup locations, zipline weight limits and the number of lines.
Check availabilityExternal booking on Viator · pricing and cancellations handled by Viator

Big Island: 9-Line Waterfall Zipline Experience
From $276.54 · Price checked: Oct 2026
Best for: Friends and couples who want a guided nine-line zipline course with dual lines for racing side by side.
Not for: Those afraid of heights, or wanting a swim, as this is ziplining only with no water time mentioned.
A two-hour guided course of nine ziplines over rainforest, waterfalls and a river, with entrance fees and equipment included. Confirm the location, weight and age limits, and whether transport is offered.
Check availabilityExternal booking on Viator · pricing and cancellations handled by Viator
Explore More
Related comparisons and guides:
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the ʻAkaka Falls zipline listing include a visit to ʻAkaka Falls State Park?
The listing places the course near Akaka Falls but does not say it includes a park visit.
Which of these zipline listings includes a swim?
The Kohala Zip and Dip listing is the only one of the three whose card mentions a swim.
Can young children ride on these courses?
The ʻAkaka Falls card describes children in a stated weight range riding tandem with a guide. The other two cards ask you to confirm weight limits, and the 9-Line card also asks you to confirm age limits.
Does the 9-Line Waterfall zipline pick up from hotels?
Its card does not say; it asks you to confirm whether transport is offered.
Will I see lava on a zipline day?
None of these three listings mentions lava. Kīlauea's activity is episodic, so check the national park and USGS observatory updates for any volcano plans.
Written from Hilo, Hawaiʻi Island, Hawaiʻi. Check the National Park Service, state park and operator pages for current conditions before you go.